Series : Dover Music Scores
Primary composer/editor/arranger : Peter Ilyitch Tchaikovsky 


A marvel of orchestration, Tchaikovsky's Manfred Symphony employs the composer's characteristically beautiful and emotionally charged melodies to weave the tale of a Byronic hero. The theme of the romantic outsider, as personified by Manfred, was particularly popular with nineteenth-century Russian artists. Broad orchestrations, dark lyricism, and a profound sense of tragedy have made this work a Romantic favorite of orchestras and audiences worldwide.
Tchaikovsky provided a literary key to the work's four movements, which begin with the weary and heartsick Manfred's wanderings through the Alps. In the second movement, an alpine fairy emerges through the rainbow from the spray of the waterfall, and the third movement features a pastoral portrait of life among the mountain dwellers. The final movement brings a dramatic conclusion, set amid an underground bacchanalia, at which the specter of Manfred's lost love returns.
Tchaikovsky wrote the Manfred Symphony between his Fourth and his Fifth Symphony.
After its premiere in 1886, the composer declared it "the best of my symphonic works."


Pages: 320
Publisher: Dover Publications

Manfred Symphony, Opus 58, in Full Score (Sold Out)




    64406805 / 64631103






    By appointment only:


    Weekdays: 9am - 10pm 

    Weekends: 9am - 7pm





    Roxy Square II Shopping Centre

    50 East Coast Road, #02-90

    Singapore 428769

    (Opposite Parkway Parade)

    Bukit Timah:

    Bukit Timah Shopping Centre

    170 Bukit Timah Road, #02-77

    Singapore 588179

    (3 min walk from Beauty World MRT)


    Sims Urban Oasis

    4 Sims Drive, Singapore 387387

    (3 min walk from Aljunied MRT)

    © 2019 Silversnow Music School.  All rights reserved.